Pathway to Law Enforcement Certification

South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy

March 12, 2019

The South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy will be changing the process for acquiring Class 1 Law Enforcement Certification for new hires, previously certified Class 1, and out of State Class 1 beginning July 1, 2019. With these changes new candidates and those candidates who are currently registered and have a starting class date after April 14, 2019 will fall under the new processes. The last class taught under the old system will be Basic Class number 699 scheduled to graduate July 12, 2019. The process for new hires will require the candidate to complete a minimum of 4 weeks of Academy directed training with their agency or a host agency in the field before attending an additional 8 weeks at the Academy.

Class 1 New Hire Process:

After a candidate is properly vetted and hired by an agency who has the authority to commission law enforcement officers, the hiring agency will submit a Personnel Change in Status (PCS) hire form to the Academy. Submission of this form should be done within 3 days the candidates hire date. The hiring process requires a thorough back ground investigation, an approved psychological test and a reading comprehension test. It is strongly encourage that the candidate be given the Physical Abilities Tests (PAT) to ensure readiness to train.

Once the PCS has been submitted the next step is to complete the Training and Certification application which is on-line at (<u>https://secure.jotform.us/form/30216581141140</u>) and submit it to Academy. Next the candidate must come to the Academy and complete the initial registration process and bring a current physical with a TB test. This form can be found online at

(https://sccja.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/SCCJA/General%20Info/Forms/DHEC%20TB%20For m201420.pdf). The candidate will also need to produce a valid South Carolina driver license and an Accommodations Request Form if any special testing accommodations are needed. The testing accommodations form is online at

(https://sccja.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/SCCJA/General%20Info/Forms/Appication%20for%2 OAccommodations.pdf). Once the candidate has successfully registered he/she will receive a thumb drive with all the required written training material for the first 4 weeks of training. This is the training which will be conducted by the agency. During the initial registration the candidate will be assigned his/her ACADIS number which will be used to access the 4 week on-line training videos and testing material provided by the Academy via the internet.

The required forms listed above can also be found on the Academy's web site at SCCJA.SC.GOV under the Forms listing.

The 4 weeks of on-line training conducted by the agency can be accessed through the internet using ACADIS. This training will be available starting May 6, 2019. The training will consist of a minimum of 147.5 hours. The agency training officer will be required to assign this training to the candidate for him/her to begin. Although the training schedule is designed in 4 blocks of 1 week each, the agency providing the training can elect to expand the training blocks, teach the material out of order or utilize more time to prepare their candidates. It is strongly encouraged that a proctor be used to oversee the

candidates during this training and the proctor should be Basic Instructor (BID) certified. Each 1 week block has a written test that must be taken and passed with a minimum score of 70% before the candidate is eligible to proceed. Make sure that all the training assigned to a particular block is covered thoroughly before the candidate takes the test. During the course of instruction should candidates have a question which the proctor cannot answer they can submit that question to the Academy to be answered. Submit your question to <u>preacademy@sccja.sc.gov</u>. An instructor will get back to you by the next working day. Be sure your question is detailed, complete and includes your name and department. If a candidate fails a test he/she will be able to retest but only after a minimum of 5 working days has elapsed. This will allow the candidate adequate time to restudy the material and prepare for the retest. There is no limit on the number of times a candidate can retake these 4 test. However, the candidate must have acquired his/her certification within 1 year of their employment with the agency. (SC Code of Laws 23-23-40) Additionally, some areas of instruction will require hands on training with proficiencies. These classes should be conducted by certified firearms instructors, defensive tactics instructors and traffic instructors etc. It will be beneficial if the individual conducting or proctoring any of the training has a high level of experience and expertise on the subject matter.

Once the candidate has successfully finished the 4 week blocks of training and has passed the subsequent cumulative and PAT test, he/she is eligible to attend the 8 week Academy BLE session for the additional required training and testing. The first 8 week session will begin July 8, 2019 and continue with sessions starting every 2 weeks.

The agency's training officer will need to register the candidate to take the cumulative written test, which will encompass all of the training material covered in the 4 week blocks, and the physical abilities test (PAT) at the Academy. Both these test will be administered during each session. The cumulative written test must be passed with a minimum score of 70% and the PAT standard is 2 minutes and 6 seconds. If the candidate passes both of these test he will be registered and given a report date for the next available 8 week session at the Academy. If the candidate fails either the cumulative test or the PAT this will count as a failure with the Academy. The candidate will return home to be remediated by his agency before his next attempt at either or both test. A minimum of 4 weeks will be required before the candidate can retest. If the candidate fails on his/her second attempt they will not be allowed to retest for 1 year.

The cumulative and PAT sessions will be available beginning Wednesday June 5, 2019 with sessions starting at 0900 hours and 1330 hours. Candidates need to report to the Academy at least 30 minutes prior to the start of each session. Sessions will be scheduled every Wednesday to facilitate registering officers currently in or entering this segment of the training process.

Candidates who successfully make it to the 8 week training and testing session at the Academy will be expected to demonstrate their capabilities and skills over all areas of training they have received from their agency and will receive at the Academy. This will be accomplished through written test, proficiencies, and scenario based exercises during the 8 week session at the Academy.

Once the candidate has successfully completed the 8 week session at the Academy he/she will receive their certification as a Class 1 Officer in South Carolina.

Recap:

Outlined is the process from start to finish for New Class 1.

- Agency vets and hires new candidate and sends PCS to Academy
- Candidate comes to the Academy for initial registration
- Candidate receives ACADIS number and thumb drive with the 4 week blocks of training material
- Agency training officer assigns on-line 4 week training blocks through ACADIS to candidate
- Candidate successfully completes 4 week training blocks
- Training officer registers candidate online for cumulative test and PAT session
- Candidate returns to the Academy to take the cumulative test and run the PAT
- Candidate who successfully completes the cumulative test and PAT is assigned a date to report to the Academy for 8 week training and testing session.
- Candidate successfully completes 8 weeks at the Academy and receives certification.

Candidates that fail the Cumulative/PAT test or test and proficiencies administered during the 8 week session at the Academy twice, will not be eligible to reapply for the Academy until 1 year from their second failure date.

Class 1 Previously Certified and Class 1 out of State:

An officer who has terminated from law enforcement for more than 1 year but less than 3 years and is eligible to be hired can acquire his/her Class 1 certification in South Carolina by completing the following steps.

The hiring agency must vet and hire the candidate and send a PCS of hire to the Academy within 3 days. The candidate must come to the Academy and register for the Class 1 recertification program. The candidate is required to provide the same documents as a new hire in order to register. Once registered the candidate will receive his/her ACADIS number and a thumb drive consisting of the written training materials needed for the on-line training.

The on-line training program will consist of a minimum of 58.75 hours of legal subjects and firearms training. The agency training officer will assign these classes to the candidate through ACADIS. It is recommended that an agency representative proctor the training to ensure completion and to entertain any questions or concerns that might arise from the training. Upon completion of the training, the candidate will register to attend a written test and firearms/driving session conducted at the Academy. These sessions will be conducted once a quarter. The written test will consist of relevant questions from the on-line training material. The candidate must make 70% on the written test and pass all proficiencies associated with firearms and driving. Upon successful completion of all these requirements the candidate will be certified as a Class 1 Officer. If the candidate fails the cumulative test he/she will be required to complete all the requirements of a new hire.

If a previously certified officer has been out of law enforcement for more than 3 years he/she will complete all the requirements of a new hire.

Officers from out of State applying for certification will be held to the same requirements and standards as outlined above. However, the following additional documents are required for approval:

- Training Review Request Form for all candidates
- Certificate of Completion of a Basic Law Enforcement Course (BLE)
- Curriculum/Syllabus showing training hours and topics of completed BLE course
- A POST letter indicating certification status from the other state and a Letter of Good Standing from the candidate's current or last agency
- Federal Law Enforcement candidates will need to provide a certificate of initial training received (Federal Law Enforcement Training Course) and a Letter of Good Standing from last agency.

Training for previously certified and out of State Class 1 candidates will be available on-line beginning July 8, 2019.

Recap:

Outlined below process for previously certified and out of State Class 1

- Agency vets and hires candidate and sends PCS to Academy
- Candidate comes to the Academy for initial registration
- Candidate will receives ACADIS number and a thumb drive with training material
- Out of State or Federal candidate must submit a Training Review Requests form and the appropriate supportive documents. All documents must be submitted, reviewed and approved before candidate can be certified.
- Agency training officer assigns Special Basic training block in ACADIS to candidate
- Candidate successfully completes training
- Agency training officer registers candidate for written cumulative Special Basic test, firearms and driver training session at the Academy
- Candidate successfully completes requirements and receives certificate

Class 3 Limited Duty:

The agency hires and vets the candidate, and sends a PCS of hire to the Academy within 3 days. Then the agency sends the candidate to the Academy to initial register. The candidate is required to provide the same documents as a new hire in order to register. Once registered the candidate will receive his/ her ACADIS number and a thumb drive with the written training material for the on-line training sessions.

The on-line training sessions will consist of 51.75 hours of legal training. Additionally, if the candidate is going to operate an emergency vehicle or carry a firearm in the function of their duties a Firearms Qualification (FAQ) and/or Emergency Vehicle Operation (EVO) training attestation letter must be submitted from the agency. The attestation letter can be found at https://sccja.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/SCCJA/General%20Info/Forms/Limited%Duty/%Firea rm%20Form.pdf. This training will be conducted at the agency level using the Academy approved firearms course and EVO training standards.

After the candidate has successfully completed all the required training, the agency training officer will register the candidate to come to the Academy to take the Limited Duty cumulative test. This test will consist of all the material covered in the 51.75 hours of on-line training. If the candidate successfully passes the test with a score of 70%, and has satisfied all of the other training requirements listed above he/she will be given their Class 3 certification.

Training for Class 3 officers will be available on line beginning July 8, 2019.

Re-cap:

- Agency vets and hires candidate
- Agency submits PCS within 3 days
- Candidate come to the Academy to register
- Candidate receives ACADIS number and thumb drive
- Agency training officer assigns on-line training sessions to candidate
- Candidate completes on-line training
- Training Officer registers candidate to take cumulative test
- Candidate passes test receives Class 3 certification if all other training requirements are met.

Important Issues:

Department Training Officer:

Every agency must have a designated training officer. The training officer will have the authority to assign the certification classes to the candidate in ACADIS. Additionally, he/she should track the progress of the candidate as they navigate through the training and certification process. The training officer is critical to ensuring the readiness of the candidate to successfully complete the training and acquire the desired certification. He/she is the first person who will have the opportunity to identify any learning or performance deficiencies the candidate exhibits. This will enable the training officer to coach the candidate and make appropriate recommendations to the candidate and the agency's administration.

Steps to Assign Four Week Block Training:

- Training Officer logs into ACADIS portal at (<u>https://acadis-portal.sccja.sc.gov</u>)
- Highlight "Training and Events
- Choose "Browse or Sign Up for Training" this will be in the drop down menu
- Search for the class to be assigned
- Select the Assign Button next to the class to be assigned
- Choose "Assign training to people in my organization" on the next page
- Select person or persons you are assigning the class
- Click the "Assign Button" in the top right corner
- Student can now log into ACADIS click on Training Section of the portal home page
- Student Clicks on the training and the online video will start
- Access to ACADIS portal requires a user name (email address) and password be established

Note: Student must have a valid ACADIS number to be recognized in the system.

Four Week Block Training Testing:

After your candidate has registered at the Academy, four block test will be assigned and made available via the ACADIS portal. To access:

- Candidate enters his/her email address and password
- Each test will appear as a separate icon
- All test question link directly to performance objectives provided in training material
- Candidate is responsible for all training material both written and on-line
- Each test consist of 50 questions in a multiple choice format
- Candidate has 1 hour to complete the test
- Make sure your candidate is ready to take the test before clicking on the icon, once the test has begun time cannot be stopped
- Test can be taken in any order
- Passing score is 70%
- Candidate must successfully pass all four test in order to proceed to the next phase of training
- These test will not count toward the candidates Academic average at the Academy
- Students who fail a test will not be permitted to take the same test for 5 business days

Important: Agency designated proctors must maintain test integrity by ensuring that no recording devices are used while the candidates are testing, no written materials are used, no looking on others test and candidate does his/her own work.

Test Topics:

Listed below are the topics for each block test:

Test 1:	Test 2:		
 Domestic Violence Juvenile Procedures 	 Basic Patrol Operations Child Abuse 		
Victimology	Traffic Law		
Harassment and StalkingGang Recognition	Strategies of ArrestsMentally III		
	Sexual AssaultIntroduction to Criminal Law		
	Courts, Crimes and ProceduresFirst Amendment		
Test 3:	Test 4:		
Prejudice and Personality	Basic Collision Reporting		
Report Writing	Basic Collision Investigation		
Interviewing	Uniform Traffic Ticket		
Vulnerable Adults	Vehicle Tactics		
Officer Survival	Mind Armor		
Drug Enforcement			

Crime Scene and Physical Evidence	
Hazards Materials	

Cumulative Tests/Physical Abilities Test:

Once a candidate has passed all four block tests he/she will come to the Academy to take the cumulative test and the Physical Abilities Test (PAT). The cumulative test will consist of a 2 hour 100 question test selected from all of the topics covered during the block training conducted at the agency. A minimum score of 70% is required for the written test and a time of 2 minutes and 6 seconds is required for the PAT. Students who fail the cumulative test twice will not be permitted to attend the Academy for one year.

In addition to successfully passing the four tests, students will be required to successfully complete ICS 100c and 700b (time allotted Tuesday of Block 3), and view/take the online NCIC test via SLED's portal (time allotted Friday of Block 3) prior to Academy attendance. Candidates should bring certificates of completion when reporting for the cumulative/PAT session.

Special Basic/Limited Duty Testing:

All Special Basic and Limited Duty Testing will be conducted at the Academy. The agency training officer must register their candidate for a test session through ACADIS.

Candidates will be given a 1.5 hours to take a 75 question test consisting of questions derived from the performance objectives associated with the written material and on-line training segments.

Test Topics:

Arrest	Introduction to Criminal Law
Civil Liability	 Investigative Detention (Stop & Frisk)
Civil Process	Legally Defensible Use of Force
Confessions, Interrogation, Miranda	Probable Cause
Courts, Crimes and Courtroom	Searches I
Procedures	Searches II
Ethics and Misconduct in Law	Searches III
Enforcement	• Specific Crimes – Against Persons
Evidence	 Specific Crimes – Against Property
Exclusionary Rule	
First Amendment	

In addition to the above topics Special Basic Candidates will be required to receive 7 hours of firearms training from their agency and complete the SLED NCIC training offered on SLED's portal. Additionally, Special Basic candidates will spend a week at the Academy going through additional firearms training and driver training before being certified.

Conclusion:

If you have any questions regarding the processes described please contact the Academy. Listed below are the points of contact by function.

Training Issues	Don Rach	803 896-8346	DGRach@sccja.sc.gov
Standards and Testing	Lauren Fennell	803 896-7722	LWFennell@sccja.sc.gov
IT Support ACADIS	Justin Miller	803 896-7991	JMiller@sccja.sc.gov
Certification	Jeff Finch	803 896-7805	JRFinch@sccja.sc.gov
Registration	Missy Collins	803 896-9912	MMCollins@sccja.sc.gov