**Best viewed in Internet Explorer

Where South Carolina Law Enforcement is Defined

traffic stop training
BLE in formation
BD handcuff training
Student in DMT training
driving training
firearms training
hidden
hidden
 
BD graduation
Salute at graduation
 

Training Review Instructions for Completion


To request a TRAINING REVIEW for out-of-state, military and/or federal candidates with prior law enforcement training, certification and employment please complete the one-page Training Review Request Form and attach the following required documentation:

  • Certificate of Completion (Basic Training Course)
  • Curriculum/Syllabus showing hours and topics of training
  • Indication that a POST Letter has been requested for police/deputy sheriff candidates
  • Indication that a Letter of Good Standing has been requested for Federal/Military candidates
  • This information should be forwarded to: Certification Unit
                                                                   Phone: 803-896-4399
                                                                   Fax: 803-896-7803

    Upon receipt of the POST Letter/letter of good standing here at the Academy a complete documentation package is forwarded by Certification for review and approval of Certification, Training and Standards and then forwarded for final review and approval of the Academy Director. Upon final approval of the Director, the requesting department is notified and contacted by the Academy to schedule a registration date. Once complete documentation has been received (including the POST Letter/letter of good standing), allow at least 10 days to 2 weeks for this review.

    NOTE: If a POST Letter has been requested and is not available and/or forthcoming, please submit a letterhead cover letter signed by the Chief, Sheriff or Director of your agency stating that multiple attempts have been made to obtain a POST Letter without success, along with confirmation that a thorough background investigation was done and nothing was found to indicate a disqualifier for certification in South Carolina (in accordance with the Training Act).

    For additional forms, please see the “Out-of-State Transfers” section on the Forms Page.